# STRATEGIC PLANNING WORKSHOP PARTICIPANTS

#### Frank Almond

Consultant to WWF-UK

#### **Craig Andrews**

Principal Mining Economist, Mining Department (A Joint Service of the World Bank and IFC)
The World Bank

## Jerry Asp

Vice President Canadian Aboriginal Minerals Association

#### **Robert Ayres**

**INSEAD** 

#### Fritz Balkau

Principal Officer Industry and Environment Office United Nations Environment Programme

#### **Susan Bass**

Director Inter-American Program Environmental Law Institute

#### **James Bond**

Director, Mining Department (joint service of the World Bank and IFC) The World Bank

## Peter Börkey

Environment Directorate, NMC OECD

## **Prof Glynn Cochrane**

Communities and Anthropology advisor RioTinto

## Jim Cooney

Placer Dome

## Stephen D'Esposito

President

Mineral Policy Centre

#### Yin Deren

Division Chief and Senior Engineer Department of Policy and Legislation Ministry of Land and Resources

#### Cristina Echavarria

Co-ordinator, Mining, Environment & Community Programme Institute of Regional Studies-INER University of Antioquia

#### **Edouard Gervais**

International Zinc Association

#### **Bernard Guarnera**

President & CEO Behre Dolbear Inc

## Dr Jay Hair

Immediate Past President
IUCN - World Conservation Union

#### **Tony Hodge**

Anthony Hodge Consultants, Inc.

## Lois Hooge

Canadian Advisor Kwagga Mining and Minerals Project Minerals and Energy Policy Centre

#### Wanda Hoskin

Principal Officer Industry and Environment Office United Nations Environment Programme

## **Norman Jennings**

Senior Industrial Specialist Industrial Activities Branch International Labour Office

## Susan Joyce

Senior Social Specialist Golder Associates Ltd

## Professor Gustavo Lagos Cruz-Coke

Head of the Mining Centre Faculty of Engineering Catholic University of Chile

#### **Peter Laver**

Chancellor of Victoria University of Technology

## **Dr Daniel Limpitlaw**

Lectuer, Environmental Engineering Dept of Mining Engineering University of Witwatersrand

## Dr Fernando Loayza Careaga

ECOLOGICALINK Investment Group Executive Vice-President

#### **Doctor Mthethwa**

Project Officer Group for Environmental Monitoring

## **Gary Nash**

International Council on Metals and Environment

#### Mehrdad Nazari

Principal Environmental Specialist Environmental Appraisal Unit European Bank for Reconstruction and Development

## **Don Newport**

Head of Mining Finance Standard Bank

#### **Andrew Parsons**

Chamber of Mines in South Africa

#### Michael Rae

Programme Leader Resource Conservation WWF – Australia

#### **Damien Roland**

ICEM, International Federation of Chemical Workers' Unions

#### **Dr Hesphina Rukato**

Senior Policy Analyst Minerals and Energy Policy Centre

### **Professor Nick Segal**

Director Graduate School of Business University of Cape Town

#### **Dr Carlos Sere**

International Development Research Centre

#### **Dr Deborah Shields**

Principal Mineral Economist

## USDA Forest Service-Research Rocky Mountain Research Station

#### **Dr Fiona Solomon**

Research Fellow CSIRO Minerals

#### Victoria Tauli-Corpuz

Director
Tebebbe Foundation Inc
Indigenous People's International Centre for Policy

#### **Ian Thomson**

Ian Thomson Consulting

#### Professor Dirk van Zyl

Director, Mining Life-Cycle Center University of Nevada -Reno Mackay School of Mines

## **Professor Alyson Warhurst**

Director Mining and Energy Research Network Director Corporate Citizenship Unit Warwick Business School The University of Warwick

#### **Dick Wells**

Executive Director Minerals Council of Australia

#### **Alan Young**

Executive Director Environmental Mining Council of British Columbia

#### **WORKSHOP FACILITATION**

## **Glenn Sigurdson**

The CSE Group Canada

#### **GLOBAL MINING INITIATIVE (GMI)**

#### **Robert Court**

Head, Government and Community Affairs Rio Tinto

## WORLD BUSINESS COUNCIL FOR SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT

## **Richard Sandbrook**

**Project Coordinator** 

# **Margaret Flaherty**

Programme Manager WBCSD

# MMSD WORK GROUP (IIED)

# **Nigel Cross**

Executive Director, IIED

## **Luke Danielson**

**Project Director** 

## **Nick Robins**

Project Rapporteur

## **Lutske Newton**

Workshop Organiser

## **Clare Palmer**

Workshop Organiser

# **Jacqueline Saunders**

Workshop Organiser

## Elisabeth Wood

Assistant Project Manager